147 comments on “Images of Norway: A Cyclist’s Dream

  1. Congrats on being freshly pressed! These photos are breathtaking. I really love seeing those ice on the roadside. Would love to visit Norway someday.

  2. I love Norway….so pristine and raw and beautiful….never camped there but would love too…campings not camping unless your surrounded by nature (rather than the world and his family and sharing communal toilets…)

  3. Really wonderful photos and I loved both the quotes! Best of Luck with your cycling! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  4. Absolutely fabulous photos, I’m really jealous, I hopefully plan to travel to Norway after uni. Keep up the good work!

  5. Wow, what beautiful scenery. It certainly looks cold there in Norway, but great roads – my hubby would love to go there with his motorbike on those twisty roads. Congratulations on being freshly pressed. You’re very kind to do this for your charity -I will be following your progress.

  6. Surprisingly, not that I have a lot remaining, but I had been pulling my hair out on the lookout for something on the subject of this topic today then simply right when I found Golofootball.blogspot.fr myself gonna surrender your website turns up out of the blue

  7. Inspirational. The photos are stunning and your adventure makes my attempt to ride 200km over 2 days (also for cancer research) seem puny!! Good on you and good luck in your efforts!!

  8. What you are doing is simply amazing! I admire your energy and commitment — and what a joy to be able to see these photos on a blog. Wow and thank you.

    One of my favorite memories, going back over 40 years ago, is of climbing the Niggardsbreen glacier in Norway. Very tame by your standards, I’m sure, but exciting for me. A young seminarian was known to stand at the bottom of the glacier every day at a certain time. He carried crampons for anyone who wanted to join him, so my father and I and a half dozen Belgians followed him up to look down a deep cravasse — exhilarating and scary! — and go back down again. It was a postcard perfect day. Altogether, Norway was one of my favorite places I’ve ever visited.

  9. This looks amazing. As a cyclist myself, I know the difficulties of traveling just on the means of a bicycle. I appreciate your enthusiasm and effort to provide us your story of your travels.

  10. Haveing Cycling most at the same way that you in Norway I say it is wery nice and know you have enjoy it. Keap on enjoy the tour. I sugest you should get you a completly new rim and all spear part you think off before you hit East-europe and, and specialy the Asia. Yes it is cycling shop here but it is not worth looking for quality one and it is rip off both in time and price to have sent Paracel.

  11. Wow, those views are breathtaking and your photos are amazing! This looks like such an incredible journey…Thanks for sharing it with us and congrats on being freshly pressed!

  12. That’s awesome that you can go adventure around beautiful places while doing something good for the world! So ideal! :) I do have a question tho – does it ever get boring to travel alone? (Unless this question is misguided, and you’re not alone haha..)

  13. Those photos are stunning! I love the photo of the bike propped up against the tall snow at the side of the road. That looks like SUCH a good time.

    Congratulations on the ride and being Freshly Pressed!

  14. Amazing photos and journey – how brave you are to tackle this! I’m curious where you got the chair in the second photo from the top – from the looks of your gear, it doesn’t look like you’ve been carrying it along.

    Congratulations on your journey and on being freshly pressed.

  15. Just found this epic journey you have made. I am moved to tears at the magnitude of this effort. You cannot possibly come back the same person. You have made a difference in a very special way even though you may not feel that yourself.

  16. Gorgeous photos and scenery. I am jealous of your trip. It sounds amazing. I shared this on Facebook to spread the word. I wish you lots of luck in your charity efforts!

  17. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences! Norway has always enchanted me and while driving through there takes one’s breath, I’m certain seeing it from a bike’s point of view would be much more stunning.

  18. Wow! Add Norway to a country I need to visit. I probably won’t bike around like you did but I would love to see the fjords! The one picture of the road with the snow piled high on each side–that reminds me of Bryce Canyon out in Utah! I went there a few years ago and I think the snow was just as high!

  19. What an amazing story. Incredible photographs of your journey. You certainly are dedicated and I could feel your exhilaration when you saw nature in the “raw”, Reindeer, Elk, Bear, Peaks and those roads/paths you rode on. I agree, you are an inspiration. What ever you do after this life experience will be just as amazing I’m sure.

  20. Your photos are beautiful, and well done on surviving all that cycling! It sounds like hard work, but looks like it was worth it :) Also, congrats on Freshly Pressed.

  21. Absolutely GORGEOUS pictures and a wonderful cause. I can’t believe all that snow off the side of the road with your bike leaning against it! NICE camping sites and views. Thank you so much for sharing!

  22. Your pictures and your journey are inspiring. The peaks remind me of mountains I have visited in the Canadian Rockies. One of the special parts of traveling is the new friendships you stumble upon along the way.

  23. Welcome for being on freshly pressed. No doubt, you have gifted an really awesome post with mind-blowing photographs. I like your system of a little description for every photos. Best wishes for you.

  24. Norway is my favourite p[lace – feel a very strong urge to be there looking at your photos!
    Are you aware of James Duthey’s I Cycled to the Arctic Circle?

  25. Reblogged this on thewordpressghost and commented:
    Ah, to be young again!

    I would enjoy the world and all it has to offer.
    What about you?
    What would you do?
    Cycle to the Arctic Circle?
    Fly around the world – one of my favorites.
    Skydive – another favorite.
    Kayak the seven seas? Might do a couple miles in each of them. Would you cross each of them?
    Ghost.

  26. My God, that is breathtaking! I have a Norwegian pen pal, with whom I’ve been communicating for almost twenty years. She lives south of Oslo, yet surely has seen some views like that. I live in hot, humid, stormy Northwest Florida–and oh, how I would love to be in Norway right now! You are very fortunate!

  27. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! Norway is such a special place. I’m in LOVE with its amazing nature and its crazy people like the wiry pensioners that clamber up the sides of hills without breaking sweat – thanks for sharing your pics, it looks like an amazing journey. I just wish I could have been breathing that beautiful air as well and camping in the middle of nowhere – magic! Gorgeous!!

  28. Get new spokes as soon as possible. When more than one are broken, the rest will follow very quickly. A new wheel is often cheaper than rebuilding and trueing a worn one.
    Superb images! I traveled the same roads almost 50 years ago. Not much has changed.
    Good luck to you.

  29. Wow, this post has made my desire to spend time exploring Norway grow even stronger. What a amazing experience! the one photo at dawn/dusk is a knock out. All the best with your Journey!

  30. Hi Chris,

    I wish to commend you for a life changing undertaking! Before I navigate your site I thought it was just another of the many similar themes about travel and all. But I was taken aback, you are doing it for a cause, that makes it impressive. I somehow in my wildest dreams would like to experience crossing from one country to another just by cycling. And what interest me to read your post is because I will be visiting Norway this August :-). I can’t help but admire you have captured the beauty of Norway and I can’t wait to see it soon! I hope to experience Fjords!! :-)

    By the way, I’m from the Philippines and currently in Singapore. I see your route, when you finally come to SEA, feel free to drop me a message if there is in anyway I can be of help. I am one with you. Keep up the good work and safe travels!

    Regards,
    Mafey

    • Hi Mafey,

      Thank you for your offer to help when I arrive in SE Asia. It’s still such a long way away, but hopefully I reach there safely at the beginning of 2014. I hope you enjoyed Norway as much as I did; the fjord region was just stunning.

      All the best,

      Chris

  31. Great post. Have you seen this video? https://vimeo.com/17377363
    It is the music video for post rock band Mogwai’s “How to Be a Werewolf”, which features a cyclist in front of the backdrop of the stunning Norwegian countryside. You don’t have to be a fan of the band to appreciate the video. Hope you like it, and congrats on being FP.

  32. Inspiring! Feels like I am along for the ride when I look at your photos! And I wish I was! Awesome :)

  33. Wow, I must be sure to visit Norway! No doubt the pictures, which are great btw, are but a glimpse of the experience.

  34. the photos are amazing, as always! But looking at them made me realize I am in NEED of holiday, with a real beach, icecold cocktails and an overload of sun.. !

  35. Ohh cycling in Norway sounds like so much fun! Must be amazing surrounded by all that greenery and those pastoral settings! I’m VERY jealous lol. Thank you for sharing your story and those beautiful shots!

  36. Pingback: Friday Fantasy | indulge: capturing love, life & everything in between

  37. Unbelievable, what I would give to be there. I once rode the Going to the Sun highway in Glacier National Park before auto traffic was allowed. That was fantastic but nothing like your images, thanks for shared.

  38. Your style is so unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from.
    I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll
    just book mark this page.

Leave a Reply

